Conference Dates

April 6-11, 2003


The Öresund Region: Eastern Denmark and southernmost Sweden constitute the Öresund Region (Öresund). It is an official "EU Crossborder Region" and has special EU grants. It has about 3. 5 million inhabitants and is the most densely populated area in Scandinavia. In the year 2000 a bridge was opened across the sound that separates Denmark and Sweden. This event is often regarded as the starting point for the crossborder region. It is a high-tech region with a number of successful companies ranging from small startups to large international companies. There are eleven research hospitals and seven science parks, some of them among the largest in Europe, and an innovation-oriented public sector. The twelve universities have joined in the umbrella organisation Öresund University. Öresund University: ÖU was created in 1998 and has developed its organisation over the five years it has existed. Within ÖU are two large and broad universities dating back to the Middle Ages, two universities of technology, one of Europe´s biggest business schools, a large university of agriculture and several new and/or specialized universities. The number of students is about 135 000, faculty about 10 000. It is a research intense organisation being number four or five in scientific output in Europe. It has close connections with business and industry in Denmark and Sweden. These connections are organised within Öresund Science Region, which is run jointly by the universities, business organisations and regional authorities. More than 1000 companies belong to the networks within Öresund Science Region, which consists of four "platforms" for four target areas: Medico- Biotech, ITC, Food Sciences, Environmental Sciences. Among the objectives of Öresund University are: (a) increased student and faculty mobility and cooperation across the border, between universities and across disciplinary borders; (b) to make Öresund University, its member institutions and the region attractive to international students,researchers, specialists and investors; and (c) increased cooperation with business and industry The overall objectives are to make the universities more efficient and, through cooperation with society, stimulate economic and other types of development in the region and the two countries. Cooperation within Öresund University: Cooperation and student mobility can be "planned" or "organized" through joint programmes etc, or by making it easier for students to move freely and choose from the enormous smorgasboard of courses, programmes and options that exist within the organisation. We have a number of different types of cooperation ranging from joint programmes to "plans for division of labour" and try to create an ÖU Study Gateway, which will be a joint course catalogue on the net. For PhD students, activities can be joint research schools, courses, seminars, and assistant supervisors. We try to create exchange programmes that give incoming and outgoing students maximum of options. This can e. g. be done through "system-to-system" agreements. We also have an international summer school with about 90 different courses.